Skip to main content

Covid-19 Update

Following the Government’s most recent Covid-19 update on Sunday 10th May it is important to note that there are no immediate changes in the education or child care provision made by schools.

Therefore, schools will continue to provide distance learning support for students and child care for Key Workers who have provided 24 hours notice of their intention to use the child care facility. 

 

As you will be aware, the government has announced the expectation that Secondary schools will begin a phased transition to school based learning during Term 6 for selected Year groups.

 

We are working closely with the Local Authorities and the Department For Education to ensure the most effective and safe return to school for students and staff. We will be in contact you shortly to update you on our plans.

 

Please continue to check your mailboxes and this website for updates.


Thank you for your continued support.

 

Further information on the free school meals scheme can be found here: https://www.edenred.co.uk/Documents/DfE/DfE_FreeSchoolMeals_ParentCarerFAQs.pdf

 

Thank you for your cooperation in keeping students at home wherever possible.  Please note that because of staffing plans, parents of key workers should email office@newhorizonschildrensacademy.org.uk or call 03333 602120 by 9am the day before to be eligible for provision the next day.

Key Worker letter

Provision for all students

Students during a lesson

Term Dates

September 2019 to July 2020

Term 1

Monday, 2 September 2019 CPD day all staff attend

Start: Tuesday, 3 September 2019

Finish: Thursday, 17 October 2019

Friday, 18 October 2019 CPD day all staff attend

Autumn break: Monday, 21 October 2019 to Friday, 25 October 2019

Term 2

Start: Monday, 28 October 2019

Finish: Thursday, 19 December 2019

Monday, 25 November 2019 Occasional in lieu day Students and staff do not attend

Christmas break: Friday, 20 December 2019 to Monday, 6 January 2020

Term 3

Monday, 6 January 2020 CPD day all staff attend

Start: Tuesday, 7 January 2020

Finish: Friday, 14 February 2020

February break: Monday, 17 February 2020 to Friday, 21 February 2020

Term 4

Start: Monday, 24 February 2020

Finish: Friday, 3 April 2020

Spring break: Monday, 6 April 2020 to Friday, 17 April 2020

Good Friday: 10 April 2020

Easter Monday: 13 April 2020

Term 5

Start: Monday, 20 April 2020

Finish: Friday, 22 May 2020

Early May bank holiday: Friday, 8 May 2020

May break: Monday, 25 May 2020 to Friday, 29 May 2020

Term 6

Start: Monday, 1 June 2020

Finish: Friday, 17 July 2020

Monday, 20 July 2020 CPD taken as Twilight

Tuesday, 21 July 2020 CPD taken as Twilight

Staff Development Days (when students do not attend school)

Monday 2 September
Friday 18 October
Monday 25 November (in lieu day)
Monday 6 January
Monday 20 July
Tuesday 21 July

A pdf version of the school calendar (which includes term dates, school trips, and house events) can be downloaded using the link below.

 

Click here to download 2020/2021 Term Dates